Skip navigation
The Australian National University

People

Academic staffAdjunctsEmeritus ProfessorsPhD studentsVisitors | Administrative Staff

´╗┐Academic staff

Professor Nicholas Brown
Lecturer and Head of School
Ph:  61 2 6125 3051
Email: nicholas.brown@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Australian twentieth century cultural, political and environmental history; Australian biography.

 

Dr Malcolm Allbrook
Research Fellow and Managing Editor, Australian Dictionary of Biography
Ph:  61 2 6125 4455
Email: malcolm.allbrook@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Australian history, colonial and transnational histories in the Indian Ocean region, Indigenous histories, biography and life writing, landscape history and the deep past.

Dr Lawrence Bamblett
VC Indigenous Scholar in History
Ph:  61 2 6125 4459
Email: lawrence.bamblett@anu.edu.au  

 

 

 

Dr Gemma Betros
Lecturer
Ph:  61 2 6125 2720
Email: gemma.betros@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Enlightenment, French Revolution, Napoleon, history of women religious

 

Professor Frank Bongiorno
Professor of History
Ph:  61 2 6125 0318
Email: frank.bongiorno@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Australian political, cultural and labour history; Australian historiography.

Dr Alexander Cook
Lecturer
Ph:  61 2 6125 2717
Email: alexander.cook@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Modern British and French history; history of political thought and political culture; commercial society; the Enlightenment; empire; public history; historical theory and method.

 

Dr Douglas Craig
Reader in History
Ph:  61 2 6125 2712
Email: douglas.craig@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Modern United States history.

 

Dr Mark Dawson
Lecturer
Ph:  61 2 6125 2713
Email: mark.dawson@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: early modern Britain and Atlantic world; early modern English drama and literature; histories of social inequality and the body.

Dr Karen Fox
Research Fellow
Ph:  61 2 6125 8359
Email: karen.fox@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Famous lives, reputations and biographies; media and cultural history, especially gender and race; comparative and trans-national history of settler societies, particularly Australia and New Zealand; women’s, gender and feminist history; colonialism and imperialism; Aboriginal Australian and Maori history; Nineteenth and twentieth century Australian and New Zealand history.

Dr Samuel Furphy
Research Fellow
Ph:  61 2 6125 2358
Email: samuel.furphy@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Australian history; British settler colonialism; Aboriginal history; biography and life writing.

Professor Tom Griffiths AO
W.K. Hancock Professor of History
Ph:  61 2 6125 3345
Email: tom.griffiths@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Australian cultural and environmental history; the comparative environmental history of settler societies; the history of Antarctica.

Dr Rebecca Jones
DECRA Postdoctoral Fellow
Ph:  61 2 6125 2721
Email: rebecca.jones@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Areas of Interest: Environmental history, agricultural sustainability and organic agriculture, public history and rural social and emotional health and wellbeing.

Professor Ann McGrath, FASSA OAM
Professor
Director, Australian Centre for Indigenous History
Ph:  61 2 6125 4850
Email: ann.mcgrath@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Gender and Colonialism; Australian indigenous history; Comparative and trans-national history of frontiers in Australia and North America; Birth, Marriage and intermarriage; Law, Justice and History; Museums, Museology and Public History; Art and Visual Evidence in History.

Dr Nicole McLennan
Research Editor
Australian Dictionary of Biography
Email: nicole.mclennan@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest:Australian History (Excl. Aboriginal And Torres Strait Islander History), Biography, Museum Studies.

Dr Ben Mercer
Lecturer
Ph:  61 2 6125 2714
Email: ben.mercer@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: The history of Western Europe in the era after the Second World War, particularly in the relationship between different forms of social, political and cultural change.

Professor Melanie Nolan
Director,
National Centre of Biography
General Editor, Australian Dictionary of Biography
Ph:  61 2 6125 2131
Email: melanie.nolan@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Biography; 20th Century Australian and New Zealand social history; labour history with a particular interest in the politics of work; the transfer and diffusion of social welfare policies trans-globally.

Dr Maria Nugent
Research Fellow
Ph:  61 2 6125 2445
Email: maria.nugent@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Australian Aboriginal History; public history; history, memory and oral history; and cross-cultural history.

Dr Patricia O'Brien
ARC Future Fellow
Ph:  61 2  6125 0157
Email: patricia.obrien@anu.edu.au

Areas of Interest:indigenous histories of Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific, colonialism, race and representation, gender histories, colonial violence, League of Nations mandates

Dr Carolyn Strange
Director of Graduate Studies
Ph:  61 2 6125 2613
Email: carolyn.strange@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: gender, sexuality, medicine, crime, and punishment; place, memory and identity in modernity. Canadian, U.S. and Australian modern history

Dr Martin Thomas
Associate Professor of History
Ph:  61 2 6125 2352
Email: m.thomas@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: perception and representation of landscape; history and philosophy of place; cross-cultural histories in Australia; Aboriginal studies; legacy of the Australian anthropologist R.H. Mathews; Visual and auditory culture; The American-Australian Scientific Expedition to Arnhem Land in 1948.

Dr C.S. Chris Wallace
ARC DECRA Fellow
Ph:  61 2 6125 6851
Email: chris.wallace@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Australian history; British Empire and postcolonial history; women’s and gender history; transnational history; whiteness and settler colonialism.

 

Professor Angela Woollacott
Manning Clark Professor of History
Ph:  61 2 6125 2715
Email: angela.woollacott@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Australian history; British Empire and postcolonial history; women’s and gender history; transnational history; whiteness and settler colonialism.

 

 

Adjuncts

     Professor Carroll Pursell
     Room 3115
     Ph:  61 2 6125 8360
     Email: carroll.pursell@anu.edu.au

     Areas of interest: United States history

 

 

 

Emeritus Professors

Emeritus Professor Ken Inglis
Email: ksinglis@bigpond.com

Area of interest: Australian History

 

Emeritus Professor Barry Higman
Professor of History
Ph:  61 2 6125 2348
Email: barry.higman@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: Historical geography and historical demography, with particular reference to Australia and the West Indies

Emeritus Professor Desley Deacon
Professor of History
Ph:  61 2 612 52356
Email: desley.deacon@anu.edu.au
Areas of interest: Gender, feminism, and modernity; modernism; biography, history and sociology of the culture of social science; American and Australian societies and cultures in comparative perspective.

Emeritus Professor Pat Jalland
Professor of History
Ph:  61 2 6125 3054
Email: pat.jalland@anu.edu.au

Areas of interest: History of women in Britain and Australia; social, cultural and medical history of death, grief and mourning in Australia.

 

 

 

Current PhD Students

Shauna Bostock-Smith

Email:  shauna.bostock-smith@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  From Colonisation to My Generation - The Lived Experience of an Aboriginal Family Group Over Several Generations

Isabella Bruckback
Email:  isabella.bruckback@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  An Economic and Social History of the Australian Wool Industry 1930-1950

Murray Chisholm
Ph:  61 2 6125 3157
Email: murray.chisholm@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: History of the Opposition to Capital Punishment

Rohan Curnow
Email: rohan.curnow@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  The Catholic Church and Material Poverty in the 20th Century:  An Intellectual History of the Doctrine of the Preferential Option for the Poor

Scott Dempsey
Email: scott.dempsey@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: British imperial thought during the reign of James VI and I

Louise Douglas
Ph:  61 2 6125 4794
Email: louise.douglas@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Australian participation in international exhibitions, 1851-1939

Patricia Downes
Ph:  61 2 6125 2347
Email: patricia.downes@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: The role and contribution of the military convicts transported to Australia 1788-1868

Serene Fernando
Ph:  61 2 6125 7466
Email: serene.fernando@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Strengthening our voice: a post-colonial narrative of the Kamilaroi people of north-west NSW

Fiona Firth
Email: fiona.firth@gmail.com
Thesis Topic: The New Settler Tribes of the Bega Valley

Fiona Fraser
Ph:  61 2 6125 0392
Email: fiona.fraser@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Entertainment, Education or Enlightenment: the struggle to establish and control a high class musical culture in sydney from 1889 to 1939.

Rhianne Grieve
Ph:  61 2 6125 2357
Email:  rhianne.grieve@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  Natural rights in Eighteenth century British natural jurisprudence

Maria Haenga-Collins
Ph:  61 2 6125 7465
Email:  maria.haenga-collins@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  The impact of Closed Stranger Adoption on maori adopted into Pakeha families and their Maori families of origin 1955-1985

Elizabeth Hellwig
Email:  elizabeth.hellwig@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Sisters in Service:  the role and contribution of Lay Sisters to the mission of the Dominican Sisters in Australia

Les Hetherington
Ph:  61 2 6125 8360, 0408 643 419
Email:  les.hetherington@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: 'Vaillante Soeur': Marie Caroline Niau and her family in France, England and Australia, 1820 to 1956

Nicholas Hoare
Ph:  61 2 6125 2357
Email: nicholas.hoare@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: A History of Phosphate Mining on Makatea, 1908-1966

Catherine Horne
Ph:  61 2 6125 7465
Email:  catherine.horne@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  Broadcast and Print Media Representations of Women’s Speech and the Construction of Australian Femininity, 1920-70

Benjamin Huf
Ph:  61 2 6125 5698
Email:  benjamin.huf@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  Work, Politics and Conceptual Change in 19th Century Australia

Megan Kelly
Ph:  61 2 6125 4788
Email:  megan.kelly@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Entrepreneurs of south-eastern New South Wales, 1920-1950

Samantha Khaw
Ph:  61 2 6125 7465
Email:  samantha.khaw@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Advertising "beauty" in late-Victorian popular press

Thomas J. Lalevée
Ph:  61 2 6125 2356
Email: homas.lalevee@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Vitalism, sociability and human nature in French moral and political thought, 1795-1830

Pam Lane (MPhil)
Email:  pamela.lane@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Eirene Mort - A Distinctly Australian Character

Daniel May
Ph:  61 2 6125 2357
Email:  daniel.may@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Taking fire: understandings of Indigenous burning and environmental politics in Australia and the United States, 1910-2015

Annemarie McLaren
Ph:  61 2 6125 3896
Email:  annemarie.mclaren@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  The Blue Mountains - Re-thinking the History of Place

Eamonn McNamara (MPhil)
Ph:  61 2 6125 2357
Email:  eamonn.mcnamara@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  A study into the evolving idea of reconciliation in Northern Ireland: 1998 - 2006

Rory McLeod
Email:  rory.mcleod@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  The Idea of Rome and the Practice of Modern Empire: Britain 1750-1815

Deborah Nance
Email:  deborah.nance@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Dragged kicking and screaming. The Commonwealth's reluctant assumption of control over marriage in Australia

Shannyn Palmer
Ph:  61 2 6125 7440
Email:  shannyn.palmer@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Landscapes in Kakadu, NT or Central Australia

Robert Paton
Ph:  61 2 6125 2291
Email:  robert.paton@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Trade and communication and the flow of knowledge within and between some Indigenous communiteis and important sites across the central/northern NT

Jayne Regan
Ph:  61 2 6125 7465
Email:  jayne.regan@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  Environment, politics and literature in inter-war Australia

Alexandra Roginski
Ph:  61 2 6125 0392
Email: alexandra.roginski@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  History of Phrenology in Australia

David Roth
Ph: 61 2 6125 3157
Email:  david.roth@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  Life, Death and Release at Callan Park, 1878-1920

Alice Rumble
Ph:  61 2 6125 3056
Email:  alice.rumble@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Making claims: Aboriginal appeals to justice during the nineteenth century

William Scates Frances
Ph:  61 2 6125 2356
Email:  u5518966@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Managing Interests, Managing Dissonance: Cognitive Dissonance Theory and Contact History

Barrina South
Email:  barrina.south@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Tiddas' Landscapes:  uncovering Aboriginal women's histories of place in NSW.

Scott Stephenson
Ph:  61 2 6125 2357
Email:  scott.stephenson@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Democracy and oligarchy within the New South Wales labour movement 1910 to 1939

Christopher Taylor
Email: christopher.taylor@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: For the Public Good: the role of government in early Australian agricultural innovation, 1788-1860

Stephen Wilks
Email: stephen.wilks@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Earle Page and the Shape of Australia - a study of ideas about national development in the twentieth century

Wei Wen Wong
Ph:  61 2 6125 3157
Email:  wei.wong@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  British Colonial Knowledge of the Malay Peninsula: From the beginning of British rule to the early twentieth century

Peter Woodley
Email:  peter.woodley@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  Social, economic and political engagement and identity in farming areas around Dubbo, 1880-1940

 

Visitors

Visiting Fellows

Dr Jon Lawrence

Dr Kent Fedorowich

David Cannadine

Linda Colley
 

School Visitors

Dr Marie Kawaja

Dr Tania Colwell

Dr Barbara Dawson

Dr John Hart

Dr Mary-Anne Jebb

Dr John Knott

Ms Julie Hotchin

Dr Karen Downing

Professor Caroll Pursell

Dr Blake Singley

Dr Anna-Sophia Jurgens

Dr Rebecca Jones

Professor Peter Read

Dr Margaret Hutchison

Professor Mark Edele

Dr Joy McCann

Professor Timothy Rowse

 

Updated: 21 March 2017/ Responsible Officer:  Head of School / Page Contact:  Web Publisher