Congratulations to School of History Academics!

Congratulations to School of History Academics!
Tuesday 7 July 2020

Emerging from the Australian Historical Association Annual General Meeting, Head of School - Professor Frank Bongiorno, has given us the news of some wonderful achievements coming out of our school. 

Mike Jones

Mike Jones has won the Allan Martin Award (which he shares with our colleague in the Centre for Heritage and Museum Studies, Alexandra Dellios).

Laura Rademaker

Has won the Ann Curthoys Prize (Mike Jones was highly commended).

Laura also won the W.K. Hancock Prize for her Found in Translation (which, in its thesis form, also won the Serle Prize a few years back).

Annemarie McLaren

Annemarie won the Serle Award for best PhD Thesis in Australian history.


Professor Bongiorno expressed his pride in the School's achievements: 

These are wonderful results, recognition of the hard work and achievements of those recognised, but also of the support provided by supervisors to our PhD students and Early Career Researchers and the vibrant culture of research and writing in the School. Thank you to everyone who makes this happen.The Dean asked me to pass on her congratulations. ‘Such a brilliant school!’, she wrote. I couldn’t disagree.




Photo by Ariel on Unsplash


School of History


Updated:  7 July 2020/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications