About the Centre for Environmental History

About the Centre for Environmental History
A crimson rosella, courtesy of the ANU Image Library, https://www.flickr.com/photos/anu-image-library/24134082057/

The Australian National University has the best concentration of expertise in interdisciplinary environmental studies in Australia and one of the best in the world. The ANU Colleges of Arts and Social Sciences, Asia and the Pacific, Law, and Science, and the ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions have many of the nation’s leading scholars in environmental history, politics and philosophy, the study of landscape change and the ecological humanities.

The establishment of a Centre for Environmental History in the School of History in late 2009 by Foundation Director Emeritus Professor Tom Griffiths consolidated existing pioneering initiatives and enabled the university to build further on its intellectual leadership in this field. Today, the Centre embraces research and teaching in environmental history, history of science, environmental humanities, and public history from anywhere in the world, but focuses particularly on Australian experiences and perspectives.

ANU Press and the Centre for Environmental History

The Centre for Environmental History welcomes interest in publishing peer-reviewed environmental history research with ANU Press, Australia's first open-access university press. Whether you have a manuscript in hand, a book proposal, or an edited collection in mind, please contact the Centre's Director, Assoc. Prof. Ruth Morgan for further information at ruth.morgan@anu.edu.au.

The Centre is affiliated with the International Review of Environmental History, an open-access interdisciplinary journal of environmental history published by ANU Press and edited by Assoc. Prof. James Beattie, Victoria University of Wellington, Aotearoa New Zealand. Please send article submissions or abstracts to James at james.beattie@vuw.ac.nz.

The Centre also supports the World Forest History Series with ANU Press, co-edited by Prof. Gregory A. Barton and Assoc. Prof. Brett Bennett, University of Western Sydney and the University of Johannesburg. Please send inquiries to Brett at b.bennett@westernsydney.edu.au.

Centre for Environmental History Foundation International Advisory Board (2010-2018)

The Centre's International Advisory Board was established in 2010, representing some of the Centre's international and national partnerships, as well as the range of scholarship and practice pursued by environmental historians around the world. The Centre gratefully acknowledges the important and generous contributions of the members of this Foundation International Advisory Board:

  • Professor Tom Brooking, University of Otago
  • Professor Jane Carruthers, University of South Africa
  • Associate Professor Diana Davis, University of California, Davis
  • Associate Professor Andrea Gaynor, University of Western Australia
  • Professor Heather Goodall, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Dr Joseph Morgan Hodge, University of West Virginia
  • Associate Professor Grace Karskens, University of New South Wales
  • Professor John R. McNeill, Georgetown University
  • Professor Stephen J. Pyne, Arizona State University
  • Dr Mike Smith, National Museum of Australia
  • Professor Sverker Sörlin, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
  • Professor Stuart Ward, University of Copenhagen
  • Dr Paul Warde, University of East Anglia
  • Professor Graeme Wynn, University of British Columbia

Updated:  12 January 2022/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications