RDHP Advisory Committee

Malcolm Allbrook

Dr Malcolm Allbrook is a research fellow in the National Centre of Biography, School of History, ANU, and managing editor of the Australian Dictionary of Biography. He is currently a chief investigator on the ARC Discovery Project ‘An Indigenous Australian Dictionary of Biography’. Malcolm also brings to his role on the Advisory Committee the experience of being a research associate on Ann McGrath’s ARC Project on the history of research at Lake Mungo.

Lorina L. Barker

Lorina Barker is a descendant of the Wangkumara and Muruwari people, Adnyamathanha, the Kooma and Kunja, and the Kurnu-Baarkandji. Lorina is an oral historian and filmmaker and teaches Modern Australian History, Oral History and Local and Community History at University of New England. The RDHP Program will benefit from Lorina’s experience in the use of multimedia as part of projects to transfer knowledge, history, stories and culture to the next generations.

Alison Bashford

Alison Bashford is Director of the New Earth Histories Research Program at the University of New South Wales. With an impressive range of prestigious publications, Alison is currently writing a book on the Huxley family of natural historians and biologists, including their investigations into deep human pasts and distant futures. Her significant experience in history, geopolitics and life on earth will greatly benefit the RDHP Program.

Emma Kowal

Emma Kowal is Professor of Anthropology at the Alfred Deakin Institute and Convener of the Science and Society Network at Deakin University. Much of her work is at the intersection of science and technology studies, postcolonial studies and indigenous studies, important considerations for the RDHP Program. Emma’s outstanding contribution in the field of ethical protocols in Indigenous scholarship and history will be valued by the RDHP Program.

Jane Lydon

Jane Lydon is the Wesfarmers Chair of Australian History at the University of Western Australia. Her research centres upon Australia’s colonial past and its legacies in the present. Formerly an archaeologist working with Indigenous communities, Jane now works as a historian interested in the ways that popular and especially visual culture has shaped ideas and debates about race, identity and rights, insights valuable to the RDHP Program.

Lynette Russell

Lynette Russell is Professor of Indigenous Studies (History) at the Monash Indigenous Studies Centre. Currently Deputy Director of the ARC’s Centre of Excellence for Australian Biodiversity and Heritage, her work is deeply interdisciplinary and collaborative, creating research outputs focused on showing the dynamism of Aboriginal responses to colonialism, their agency and subjectivity. Lynette’s outstanding leadership in the Humanities and Social Sciences will be greatly valued in her role on the Advisory Committee.

Matthew Spriggs

Professor Matthew Spriggs, based at the School of Archaeology and Anthropology, ANU, is currently involved in a five year project (2015-2020) funded by the ARC Laureate scheme on the history of Pacific archaeology. His research areas of interest are archaeology and linguistics, subsistence systems and agricultural origins, human-environment interactions, politics and archaeology and Cornish language history. Matthew’s outstanding contribution to the field of Indigenous scholarship and history will greatly benefit the RDHP Program.

Julian Thomas

Julian Thomas is a Professor of Media and Communications at RMIT. He has had a long involvement in the development of digital repositories and archives in the humanities and social sciences. Julian is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Humanities, and a board member of the Australian Communications Consumers Action Network (ACCAN). His expertise, particularly on new media and digital inclusion, will be greatly valued in his Advisory Committee role.

Jakelin Troy

Jakelin Troy is a Ngarigu woman and Director of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Research at The University of Sydney. Professor Troy’s research and academic interests focus on languages, particularly endangered Aboriginal and ‘contact languages’, language education, linguistics, anthropology and visual arts. The RDHP Program will benefit from Jakelin’s extensive experience and engagement in Indigenous scholarship.

Asmi Wood

Asmi Wood is based at the College of Law, ANU. His current research and publications include Constitutional Recognition of Indigenous people in Australia and Indigenous Participation in Higher Education. Asmi has presented several keynote addresses on Indigenous issues, including to the Australian Parliament, Government Agencies, and other institutions and organisations. His long term engagement in Indigenous research, especially in the law, will greatly benefit the RDHP Program.

Peter Yu

Peter Yu is a Yawuru man with over 35 years’ experience in Indigenous development and advocacy in the Kimberley and at the state, national and international level. He is Chair or Deputy Chair of a number of organisations relating to Indigenous development and advocacy as well as a Council Member of the Governing Board of the ANU and CEO of Nyamba Buru Yawuru. The RDHP Program will greatly benefit from Peter’s extensive experience.

Updated:  7 November 2017/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications