Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Graduate students

Catherine Akeroyd.
Phone:  6125 7466
Email:  cathakeroyd@optusnet.com.au
Thesis title: Terra Australis as a Framework for Knowledge:  A Cartographic/Iconological Study

Alessandro Antonello
Phone: 6125 3290
Email: Alessandro.Antonello@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Scientific and environmental diplomacy and the Antarctic, 1945-1980

Isabella Bruckback
Thesis Topic:  An Economic and Social History of the Australian Wool Industry 1930-1950

Murray Chisholm
Phone:  6125 2357
Email: Murray.Chisholm@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: History of the Opposition to Capital Punishment

Lissa Coleman-Fraser
Phone:  6125 2357
Email: Lissa.Coleman-Fraser@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Black-White Race Relations in the American Social Hygiene Campaigns, 1910-1955

Abby Cooper
Email: abby.cooper@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Sporting Grounds and Boxing Rounds: Indigenous sportspeople from the Western District, Victoria 1865-today

Jacqui Donegan
Email: jddonegan@bigpond.com
Thesis topic: The Confectionary Kings: Robertson, Allen and Hoadley A collective biography, 1887-1967

Louise Douglas
Phone:  6125 4794
Email: Louise.douglas@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Australian participation in international exhibitions, 1851-1939

Kim Doyle
Phone:  6125 2357
Email:  Kimberley.Doyle@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Australian peacekeeping in the post-Cold War period as a menas to explore the gendered legacies of colonialism and imperialism

Emily Duthie
Phone:  6125 2721
Email:  Emily.Duthie@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: The Empire at Home:  Poverty, Social Work and Empire in Nineteenth-Century England

Arnold Ellem
Phone:  6125 7465
Email: Arnold.Ellem@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: A Changing Pattern in Lines:  the introduction of barcode technologies into Australia - 1965 to 1980

Nola Errey
Email: nolaerrey@gmail.com
Thesis topic: Aboriginal whalers of Two Fold Bay

Serene Fernando
Email: serene.fernando@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Strengthening our voice: a post-colonial narrative of the Kamilaroi people of north-west NSW

David Fettling
Phone: 6125
Email: David.Fettling@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Ben Chifley, Asian Revolution and Australian foreign policy

Fiona Firth
Email: Fiona.firth@gmail.com
Thesis Topic: The New Settler Tribes of the Bega Valley

Nicola Francis
Phone: 6125 3689
email: Niki.francis@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Biography of Rosalie Gascoigne

Brett Goodin
Phone:  6125 7467
Email:  Brett.Goodin@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: The influence and life stories of three American captives of Barbary pirates upon the development of concepts of race, liberty and nationhood in the early U.S. republic

Les Hetherington
Email:  lesrob@bigpond.net.au
Thesis topic: 'Vaillante Soeur': Marie Caroline Niau and her family in France, England and Australia, 1850 to 1933

Margaret Hutchison
Phone:  6125 5698
Email: Margaret.hutchison@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Commonwealth Official War Art Schemes of the First World War

Spencer Leineweber
Email: spencer.leineweber@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Negotiating with the Power of Place in Post Contact Hawaii 1824-1854

Craig Mewett (Mphil)
Email: craigmew@bigpond.net.au
Thesis topic: The Jazz Revolution Revisited: the meanings of Jazz in the Interwar United States

Shannyn Palmer
Email:  Shannyn.Palmer@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Landscapes in Kakadu, NT or Central Australia

Robert Paton
Phone:  6125 2291
Email:  Robert.Paton@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Trade and communication and the flow of knowledge within and between some Indigenous communiteis and important sites across the central/northern NT

Laura Rademaker
Email:  Laura.Rademaker@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic: History of Missions

Anne Rees
Phone:  6125 4212
Email:  Anne.Rees@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic:  Australian Women in the United States, c.1910-1960

Shelley Richardson
Phone: 6125 4455
Email: Shelley.Richardson@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: A Collective Biography of the urban middle class elite family in Australasia 1880-1930

Sophie Scott-Brown
Phone:  6125 2721
Email:  Sophie.Scott-Brown@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  Reading the times; Raphael Samuel and the politics of history production in late 20th century Britain

Blake Singley
Phone: 6125 4794
Email: Blake.Singley@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: The Imagined Pudding: Australian Identity and Its Representation in Culinary Texts

Barrina South
Phone:  6125 0426
Email:  Barrina.South@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Tiddas' Landscapes:  uncovering Aboriginal women's histories of place in NSW

Sarah Tooth
Email:  Sarah.Tooth@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic:  A biography of Gertrude Bell, 1868-1926

Julia Torpey (University of Sydney)
Phone: 6125 2291
Email:  Julia.Torpey@anu.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Deepening Histories of Place: Exploring Indigenous Landscapes of National and International Significance

Christine Wallace
Phone: 6125 6851
Email: chris.wallace@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Julia Gillard: The Politics of Political Biography

Stephen Wilks
Email: stephen.wilks@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: Earle Page and the Shape of Australia - a study of ideas about national development in the twentieth century

Selena Williams
Phone:  6125 7466
Email:  Selena.Williams@anu.edu.au
Thesis topic: 'Taking the Long Journey' - Australian women who served with allied countries during World War One

Beth Wright
Email: beth@bethandrob.com
Thesis topic: The history of the content of Australian population census

Updated: 23 April 2013/ Responsible Officer:  Head of School / Page Contact:  Web Publisher