Magarey Medal for Biography

Awarded biennially, the Magarey Medal for Biography is open to women who have published a biography of an Australian subject in the previous two years. The prize is worth $10,000 (indexed for inflation) and is administered by the Australian Historical Association and the Association for the Study of Australian Literature.

The award was established in 2004 by Susan Magarey, Adjunct Professor in History at the University of Adelaide, as a counterbalance to the Margarey Medal for the fairest and best footballer in the South Australian National Football League. 

2016 winner

Libby Connors, Warrior: A Legendary Leader’s Dramatic Life and Violent Death on the Colonial Frontier (Allen and Unwin)

judges' citation





previous winners

Fiona Paisley, The Lone Protester: AM Fernando in Australia and Europe (Aboriginal Studies Press)

Sheila Fitzpatrick, My Father’s Daughter: Memories of an Australian Childhood  (Melbourne University Press)

Jill Roe, Stella Miles Franklin: A Biography (Harper Collins) judges' citation

Sylvia Martin, Ida Leeson: A Life, Not a Blue-Stocking Lady (Allen & Unwin, Sydney, 2006)  judges' citation

Prue Torney-Parlicki, Behind the News: A Biography of Peter Russo (University of Western Australia Press)  judges' citation

Isabel Flick and Heather Goodall, Isabel Flick: The Many Lives of an Extraordinary Aboriginal Woman (Allen & Unwin) judges' citation

Updated:  25 November 2016/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications